How to become a Doctor in Australia

How to become a Doctor in Australia

AMC is your affirmation jurisdiction of Australia that asserts the AMC’s eligibility portal utilized by the Medical Board of Australia and for enrollment purposes and by all Australian specialist medical schools for assessment goals.

It’s no surprise that one of the major variables to think about whilst beginning your journey within an international medical grad wanting to get certified in Australia as a practicing medical officer may be the expenses involved.

Book a FREE 1-1 session with one of our IMG expert HERE

What is the role of Australian Medical Council

AMC is the assessment authority to Assess the IMGs following the AMC Standard Pathway and this is the only authority to provide the international medical graduates using a license to practice medicine in Australia

AMC is the affirmation locale of Australia that says the AMC’s capability entrance employed by the Medical Board of Australia for enrollment reasons.

It the evaluation system to assess the graduates adhering to the AMC Standard Pathway and also is the principal strategy to present the international healthcare graduates with a permit to practice in Australia.

The Australian Medical Council was set up to lead International medical graduates throughout the process of accomplishing proficient admissions in Australia.

The AMC Standard Pathway has 3 main Steps

There are 3 progressions of steps to follow to turn into an enrolled specialist in Australia.

  1. Primary source verification through ECFMG/EPIC
  2. AMC MCQ-CAT Exam
  3. AMC Clinical Exam

1. Primary source verification through ECFMG/EPIC

You will be awarded an Australian Medical Council certificate after completion of the evaluation assessments, which is a document stating your eligibility for provisional registration that is important for employment in Australia.

In accordance with the most recent figures, the MCQ Assessment was administered to a total of 569 applicants at a weeklong period — 18th — 23rd November 2019, 264 of those candidates appeared at non- Aussie places and the remainder in Australian places.

A total of 323 applicants passed in this evaluation period, thus attracting the pass rate over 50 per cent — i.e. 56.76%

2. AMC MCQ Exam

The AMC MCQ test is based upon the criteria of medication in the fields of general practice, paediatrics, medicine, obstetrics, psychiatry, medical process and gynaecology.

The AMC Computer Adaptive Test (CAT) MCQ Examination is a computer-administered multi-choice question evaluation taken in a single 3.5-hour session.

Important points related to MCQ Exam:

  • The examination consists of 150 A-type MCQs (one correct response from five choices ) –120 scored items and 30 (non-scored) pilot items.
  • All of 150 questions should be attempted, along with the scored 120 queries are compulsory.
  • In that case, the exam result will be recorded as’Fail’ (Inadequate data to acquire result)

Only candidates that have successfully obtained more than 50 per cent in the AMC MCQ Exam are eligible to book the AMC Clinical Exam.

3. AMC Clinical Exam

The AMC Clinical Exam assesses clinical skills in medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynaecology, paediatrics, and psychiatry.

It also assesses the candidate’s aptitude to communicate with patients and their families.

The format of the AMC clinical test is 20 stations involving 14 scored units, 2 pilots (non-scored) station, and 4 rest (non-scored) units.

More Information on such courses can be found here!

Also, book a FREE 1-1 session with one of our IMG expert HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *